Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Income and cost of living for foreigners (Read 7088 times)

abercrombie
Newbie to Lao Pride
Meaning of the stars

I Love Laos!

Income and cost of living for foreigners
9th Mar, 2011 at 2:54pm

Howdy.  I've been considering moving to Laos for a while now, particularly to Vientiane. 

Is it possible to get a decent small apartment for a couple hundred USD a month?

Also, is there part time work to be had?  I've been teaching kindergarten in Shanghai for about four years, and would like to continue doing that in Laos, if possible.  Don't know what it pays though.

View Profile  
IP Logged

llX
God Member
Meaning of the starsMeaning of the starsMeaning of the starsMeaning of the starsMeaning of the stars

"Absolute power corrupt."

Awards: 2
Top Poster AwardLaotian Award
Re: Income and cost of living for foreigners
Reply #1 - 9th Mar, 2011 at 5:42pm

You can find rents for couple hundred a month in LPDR. Check out rentsbuy.com. For apartment or buying property. I'm not sure about the pay for english teacher.
Cool Smiley

abercrombie wrote on 9th Mar, 2011 at 2:54pm:
Howdy.  I've been considering moving to Laos for a while now, particularly to Vientiane.  

Is it possible to get a decent small apartment for a couple hundred USD a month?

Also, is there part time work to be had?  I've been teaching kindergarten in Shanghai for about four years, and would like to continue doing that in Laos, if possible.  Don't know what it pays though.

View Profile  
IP Logged

abercrombie
Newbie to Lao Pride
Meaning of the stars

I Love Laos!

Reply #2 - 9th Mar, 2011 at 10:00pm

Wow, thank you!  That is a great link!

But I have to ask... In Shanghai, the English language websites for apartments are largely scams.  Listings that look nice but don't really exist, just to lure you in for something dingy and more expensive.  I'm totally inexperienced with SE Asia and Laos.  Can the rental websites (and rentsbuy.com in particular) be trusted?